Sad Day.

A girl who used to be in my math, law and linguistics class committed suicide over Christmas break. I feel terribly sorry for this girls family. When I heard, I realized that is why she wasn’t in any of my classes. It then made me thinking about high school, which is something I try not to do too often.

In high school, I had to talk a friend out of suicide, not once but twice. It was hard. I don’t wish it on anyone. I can’t tell you what was going on in this friends life, maybe it was a break up or the death of their best friend or maybe it was just drama in their family, but I was the one they were able to turn to. A few years later, I was the person that they turned to again. I actually received the text “Thank you, I just put the knives away.”

Never have this said friend and I talked about what was going on, but I was the person that was there and said “You have something to live for. You are an amazing person.” type inspirational things that weren’t a lie, they were true but the friend just needed to hear that.

I wish the girl from my class had a friend like that. I wish I could have been the friend to her like I was to my old friend.

There will always be the should’ve would’ve could’ve’s in a lifetime. But I wish this wasn’t one of them.

P.S. Never will I share who this friend is. It is no ones business about who has struggled coping with the pains of whatever they struggled with.

RIP: Kasey Potter.

Leave a Reply

