It was once said.

Lately, I’ve been on a mean streak. I don’t know why and I’m not proud of it. I can pinpoint the day that I took a turn for the worse. It was a day that someone said I was ugly. I took offense to that. The person doesn’t know me but when I took offense to their statement, I lowered my self-esteem which means that I rely on what others, including them tell me when in reality, I shouldn’t. I then started putting others down, not to their faces of course, but I was trying to raise my self-esteem back up.

I may not be what everyone defines as beautiful but I am a good person. I am caring, isn’t that a piece of making someone pretty, beautiful or even gorgeous? I won’t say I’m gorgeous because that would be defeat the purpose but I know I am not ugly.

I realized what I was doing and decided that next time I wanted to judge someone on their looks, look at myself. Look at the person you are because that person is someone’s wife, mother, daughter, son, father, husband, niece, nephew, cousin. There is something amazing about each individual out there. It’s taken me awhile to finally forgive this person but I forgive them, not that they need to know I that I have forgiven them but because what type of person would I be if I carried about the anger at them for judging me on my looks.

Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart and I need to remember that.

I honestly don’t know who reads this blog and I don’t exactly care. I am a very open person. I use stories, examples and even pictures from years ago, months ago, days ago or pictures I found off the internet. But ultimately, it is my blog. I try not to put anything offensive up and if I do, I am sorry but this blog has never been about anyone other than myself and family.

As for this story, it relates to someone who I went to high school with. Someone who resides in another state other then where I go to school thus it is no one that I could possibly have contact with.

Merry Christmas, everyone!

Leave a Reply

